He’s ours!

I can hardly believe this through my travel fog, but WE PASSED COURT!  Mente is ours!  This boy has been my son since I first heard about him in a quick conversation with our adoption coordinator over two years ago.  Just over a year ago, I believed that he could never be mine, but now, here he is, calling me “mommy.”  I don’t think he really knows what a mommy is yet, but I intend to show him, just as soon as I can get my hands on him permanently.

Now we are waiting on our official court decree, new birth certificates and a passport in Mente’s new name, and a medical exam before we can be submitted to the Embassy.  I hope that process happens quickly.  The Embassy has 5 days to review our case once we are submitted.  Once they have reviewed it, they will either clear us (yay!), request an interview with Mente’s family, or forward the case on to the USCIS office in Nairobi for further investigation.  I think Mente’s case is pretty straightforward, so I’m not expecting any complications.  We have a birth family interview on DVD, so that may be sufficient to clear us immediately, but it would not surprise me if the Embassy requested to interview his relatives.  It shouldn’t be too difficult since they live in Addis Ababa.

I have a flurry of busy-ness now that I have three children.  There’s so much to do still to prepare our home for our third (or first) child.  We have tried to spend as much time as possible with Mente during our 3 days in Addis, so there’s not been time to even think or celebrate properly.  I plan to soak a little in God’s goodness and spend some time thanking and praising him properly.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.  If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”  John 15:5-8

I want to be certain that anyone reading knows that Mente’s adoption is entirely God’s work.  Some people have commented on our tenacity or dedication to bringing him home.  We only prayed for him and followed the path that God set before us, often times completely unsure what we were doing.  We risked our finances and our emotional stability because we believe that God keeps his promises.  Mente’s case is completely impossible without God.  My son’s Ethiopian name means “God can do anything,” and God has certainly shown us that.

One thought on “He’s ours!

Leave a Reply

