Anniversary

Today is our 8th wedding anniversary.  I do love my man.  He is brilliant, my voice of reason.  He spends evenings on the floor with the kids building rather intricate towers out of megablocks even though my kids immediately destroy them over and over.  He kisses boo boos, refills milk cups, wipes squished strawberries off the kitchen floor.  He serves our family, makes dinner from empty cupbords when I work late, brings me water and snacks after the kids go to bed.  He’s willing to try anything.  He’s followed me to Zambia and Ethiopia and back, and when I dream of raising our kids for a little while in Ethiopia, he doesn’t silence me, even though he’s not sure about it yet.  He tutor’s my brother’s girlfriend in calculus in the evenings on short notice and doesn’t mind loaning our extra bedroom out to anyone in need.  He trusts Jesus.  He doesn’t worry.  He’s such a good man.

We spent the evening on our anniversary at one of our favorite local restaurants eating sushi and fried rice.  We stopped by the mall to return my Mother’s Day November earrings and found an October necklace (to match my October earrings) on sale.  We ended up at Wal-Mart for a few things for Lulu’s room.  Romantic, I know, but it’s so so hard to go to Wal-Mart with the kids.  One of the things I love about our relationship is that we just enjoy each other’s company, even at Wal-Mart.  We have not picked up our annual tradition yet, a Cold Stone ice cream cake.  We’re saving it for the weekend.

For our anniversary, Matt gave me a Bring Love In t-shirt and bracelet.  If you aren’t acquainted with Bring Love In’s incredible ministry, I suggest you check them out.

Leave a Reply

