October Baby

I lean on the barstool in my kitchen and stare at the image of my boy who is so much bigger now than when I first scrolled to his 2 x 2 picture in an email in March 2010.  I keep watching him there on my screen, unsure if he’ll still be there tomorrow.  What a blessing he is, such a miracle, a boy I have deeply grieved, and yet here he is, resurrected on my computer screen.  The right words just won’t come.

“God is not a man, that he should lie,
nor a son of man, that he should change his mind.
Does he speak and then not act?
Does he promise and not fulfill?”

Numbers 23:19 (NIV)

My Lord promised this boy to me.  My Lord has created this family.  I hope anyone who knows our story understands fully that God has orchestrated my children’s homecoming.

Our family coordinator sent me a message yesterday to tell me that my M’s birthday is in October.  We know this to be true based on a very early document from his history.  I am so glad to know this for him.  I will also be wearing opal from time to time, in his honor.  🙂

Leave a Reply

