Day 17: Julie Mehretu Grey Area

 

This image absolutely does no justice to this artist’s work.  It is phenomenal.  I was drawn to this exhibit when Matt and I visited the Guggenheim in New York for our Babymoon.  I couldn’t pull myself out of the room.  The paintings were vast and layered, mechanical but colorful, puzzling and still lovely.  There was so much to see, such fine detail up close, so abstract at a glance.  The artist, Julie Mehretu, was born in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.  I am certainly a fan.

Leave a Reply

