Day Two: Le Papillion

I love foreign films, particularly French films since they give me the opportunity to practice my French. Unfortunately, a lot of foreign films available in the U.S. contain some, well, objectionable content, so I am thrilled when I find a film suitable for my family that does not contradict my faith. I saw “Le Papillion” a few years ago on Netflix. The film follows a butterfly collector, Julien, and Elsa, a young girl, who stows away in his car to join the butterfly hunt. Julien is a wonderful grumpy old man, Elsa a bright and opinionated companion. The film is refreshingly sweet, lovely with a cup of hot tea, a thick blanket, and a rainy Saturday afternoon.

Leave a Reply

