U2

Photo credit to Christina Pittman Bowles, who stood in line in the crazy heat much longer than I did and consequently has much better pictures.

Yes, friends, I spent my 7th wedding anniversary on a date with four boys from Dublin (and 56,000 other people).  My dear friend, Marlana, and I bought tickets to this concert months ago (after I’d asked my dear husband for permission to be away on our anniversary).  My sweet husband took care of Lulu for the weekend for me.  The entire event was a much-needed and very welcome respite from my paper pregnancy stress.  U2 has always been on my “must-see” concert list, and this turned out to be a fantastic show.  U2 has an enormous catalog, so I had no idea what to expect, but they played most of my favorites.  We arrived early (although not as early as some) with our GA admission tickets hoping to end up close to the stage.  We ended up in the third row of the mass of people, stage right with a life-sized view of the band.  One of the side bridges passed back and forth over us through the entire show, so we got a good view of all four gentlemen entertaining us (and their rather silly costumes (my favorite:  laser jacket with Target mic)).  They played for two-and-a-half hours on a very warm night.  Here’s one fan’s assessment:

“Do you know what the best thing about U2 is? Even if you don’t listen to them every day, even if you have never been to their show, even if you aren’t sure about Bono evangelizing about politics or amnesty or space stations or whatever it is he is fighting for—you still know every word to every song. You still listen in amazement to The Edge and his brilliance with a guitar, you recognize Bono’s lilt and cadence like it’s a family member’s voice, you feel something stir inside of you that is both emotional, yet insanely energizing, and you can’t believe it is happening right in front of you. From the get-go, you know that you are experiencing something frantic, beautiful and altering.”  –Johanna Roy

This band works hard.  The show was at once exhilarating, intimate, socially conscious, ridiculous, and cathartic.  Bono left me feeling as though he sang only to me, and at the same time, I left the show feeling the enormity of the world, feeling as though I am a part of something greater, and feeling personally responsible to declare the year of Jubilee.  I returned home refreshed, pleasantly exhausted, but ready to continue on towards my higher calling.

The Set List:

Even Better Than The Real Thing

The Fly

Mysterious Ways

Until The End Of The World

I Will Follow

Get On Your Boots

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For / Many Rivers To Cross

Stay (Faraway, So Close!)

Beautiful Day / Space Oddity (snippet)

Elevation

Pride (In The Name Of Love)

Miss Sarajevo

Zooropa

City Of Blinding Lights

Vertigo

I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight /Discothèque (snippet) /Life DuringWartime (snippet) /Psycho Killer (snippet)

Sunday Bloody Sunday

Scarlet

Walk On
Encores:

One/Hallelujah (snippet)

Where The Streets Have No Name

Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me

With Or Without You

Moment of Surrender

Leave a Reply

