Fundamentals

I’m having a crummy couple of weeks.  My adoption of my little boy is on hold.  We’ve been told that it is almost impossible.  I am sick with a nasty head cold, and I have been working much more than usual to make up for days off from our recent travel.  It’s illness season, so the clinic has been busy, and my throbbing head has left me inefficient and struggling to keep up.  I have been grieving since our court date.  Some days are better than others.  Sometimes I have hope that things will work out, but mostly I am angry and irritated to have another obstacle in the path to my little boy.  In moments like this one, I have to consider my faith.  I’ve been in this place before.  God is either everything he says that he is, or he isn’t worth my attention.  I have to go back to basics and remember that my faith is in God and no one else.

1.God is sovereign.
“The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it.”  Psalm 24:1
2.God is omnipotent.
“He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted.”  Job 9:10

3.God is good.
“The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.  The Lord is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.”  Psalm 145:8-9
4.God loves me, and God loves M.
“See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!” 1 John 3:1
5.God has good plans for me and for M.
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give             you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11
6.God has no limitations.
“Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.”  Isaiah 40:28-29
7.Jesus sacrificed himself to save me.
“This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.”  1 John 4:10
8.God wants to adopt me.
“Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.”  Ephesians 1:4-5
9.God’s grace is sufficient.
“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 2:9
10.I am called to worship and obey.
“And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”  Micah 6:8
There is so much more I could say.  This is enough for today.

Leave a Reply

