All Because of Jesus

“Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap.”  –Luke 6:38

I am so overwhelmed by the goodness of my Lord.  I’ve been humbled over these past three weeks as we have prepared to return to Zambia.  One of the P.A.s on our trip suggested a few months ago that we collect donations to buy school supplies for the Zambian children at Festus’ school in Ndola.  After watching a friend run a very successful fundraising campaign for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation on Facebook, I decided a few weeks ago to give it a try.  I wasn’t expecting much . . . I thought it’d be nice if we could take a hundred dollars or so with us.  I made a quick webpage with my Mac, opened a Paypal account, posted a link on Facebook, and sent out a few mass emails.  The whole thing took me a couple of hours.  Like I said, I wasn’t expecting much.

Within hours of posting the link, I had my first donation of $10.  I was thrilled.  Had that been all I received, I wouldn’t have been disappointed.  Daily, donations have poured in from everywhere.  Friends I haven’t spoken to in 12 years have been incredibly generous.  Our PayPal account has grown steadily, and I’m excited just anticipating the reaction we’ll have when we get to Zambia.  I thought things might slow down.  I’ve nagged my friends every day with my Facebook status updates, and I’d figured that at some point, everyone who wished to donate would have done it already.  It hasn’t stopped.  Every day, I’m surprised by even more giving.

This weekend, we traveled to Columbia to celebrate residency graduation with my friends.  At the banquet I received donations from several friends.  We worshipped with Rejoice today.  We were showered with prayers and well-wishes, and we left there with $400 in our pockets, all donated by children at VBS and the congregation.  I felt so full of God’s goodness that I could hardly eat my lunch.  I think I might have been glowing.  As we rode back home, I wasn’t sure any more was possible.  How could be be blessed more than we already have been?  We attended the evening service at South Fremont, and the church surprised us with another offering ($300 from a very small church).  OVERWHELMED, I tell you.  Matt and I can hardly contain ourselves.  We arrived home afterwards, and I found another $100 in our PayPal account.  In total, at this time, we have received $1820.40 (about 9 million Zambian kwacha) for the children in Zambia.  That’s more money than a lot of people make in a year there.  I can’t begin to imagine how far that will go to provide education for the next generation of Zambians.

Even better, we’re giving this money to a school at Festus’ church in Ndola.  Festus is passionate about a lot of things, but he is particularly passionate about his school.  Just thinking of his reaction to this generosity makes me want to get on that long flight to Zambia.  The anticipation is killing me!  The more humbling thing about it is that I know that Festus and the Zambian church will drop to their knees, and they will pray in ernest that all of the Americans who donated will be doubly blessed in the future because of their faithfulness.  Festus has spent hours on his knees already praying for this trip.  The Zambians will see this generosity, and they will glorify God.

“So two good things will result from this ministry of giving–the needs of the believers will be met, and they will joyfully express their thanks to God.”  2 Corinthians 9:12

Leave a Reply

