Work

“I have no fear of drowning.  It’s the breathing that’s taking all this work.”  –Jars of Clay

I have a job . . . and I rather like it.  This morning I was greeted with a Hawaiian Luau in the office, complete with candy, streamers, and presents.  It was really incredibly nice.  I’m not used to this sort of treatment.  It’s been a bright spot in my otherwise dismal adjustment to life in Springfield.  A week or so ago, I had lunch with my friend Jennifer.  I was asking her what in the world there is to do in this town, and very gently, she reminded me, “Just don’t expect to the city in this town.”  She’s right.  As much as I wish I live in the city, I don’t.  Usually, I’m anxious to explore new places, but this just hasn’t had the same charm as Angers, Adelboden, Paris, or Kitwe.  While I was visiting Jennifer in the city, I filled up on all my favorites . . . lunch at Andre’s, shopping on the Plaza, a stuffed artichoke from Garozzo’s, and a drive past the sheep in front of the gallery.  I returned home, again determined to find something to like around here.  Matt and I went to “Art Walk” on Friday night, and I actually had a good time.  We perused galleries open late downtown, watched a few impromptu performances on the street, and ate dinner at a Greek restaurant.  My favorite:  an appetizer at the restaurant called “Flaming Cheese.”  The only thing better than cheese is cheese on fire.

Leave a Reply

